Episode 202 - Eric Weichel on Postmodern Art

October 13th, 2014

Is a long cardboard chain and anchor really a deep message on immigration? What is the difference between artificial pussy willows and an escalator? Are postmodern artists just having a laugh? Jonathan drags Andrew Cody through last March's Nuit blanche and wonders if his attitude of derision is rational or not. Enter Eric Weichel, instructor in art history at Concordia University, and one of the liveliest conversations on the podcast ensues. Can we evaluate art rationally? Jonathan and Eric talk gnomes, Cormac McCarthy, and four-year-old geniuses. No panel discussion this month, but plenty of links!


- Le Corbusier, modernist architect (http://www.greatbuildings.com/architects/Le_Corbusier.html)

- Charles Moore, postmodern architect (http://www.greatbuildings.com/buildings/Sea_Ranch_Condominium.html)

- Judith Butler (http://www.egs.edu/faculty/judith-butler/biography/)

- Kent Monkman, contemporary Aboriginal painter (http://www.mason-studio.com/journal/2012/03/kent-monkman-sexuality-of-miss-chief/)

- How to Speak and Write Postmodern by Stephen Katz (http://thepaperthinhymn.com/2010/01/26/how-to-speak-post-modernism/)

- Jacques Derrida, deconstructionist philosopher (http://www.iep.utm.edu/derrida/)

- The Rothko Chapel (http://www.rothkochapel.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=11&Itemid=14)

- A Reader's Manifesto by B.R. Myers

- Cormac McCarthy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cormac_McCarthy)

- Gayatri Spivak, postcolonial critic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gayatri_Chakravorty_Spivak)

- The Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gormenghast_(series))

- The Fallen by Andy Moss and Jamie Wardley (http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/andy-moss-jamie-wardley-the-fallen)

- Docking by Sophie Cardin (http://www.artsouterrain.com/en/sophie-cardin/)

20/20 segment transcript (http://abcnews.go.com/2020/GiveMeABreak/story?id=563146)


Postmodern artists Eric Weichel finds inspiring:

Kerri Flanagan

Takashi Murakami (http://www.theguardian.com/world/gallery/2010/sep/10/takashi-murakami-palace-versailles)

Shary Boyle (http://www.sharyboyle.com)

Patricia Piccinini (http://www.patriciapiccinini.net)

Yayoi Kusama (http://www.yayoi-kusama.jp/e/information/)

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)